Road2Gold

Hit the road with me as I aim for gold

Working The Dreams

on June 5, 2012

Hello, Welcome to Road2Gold!

As a Girl Scout, I recently began working on the Financing My Dreams badge.

The first step in achieving this badge is to explore dream jobs.

My favorite movie ever is How To Train Your Dragon by DreamWorks Animation SKG.

So, this being the case, I have always wanted to work for DreamWorks.

For this particular badge, you have to research the salary for the job of your dreams. I got an estimate of $50,000-$100,000. (I think that’s good, right?)

The second step in this badge was finding a dream home.

I aimed for a house near DreamWorks in California. I found this house for sale at a price of $430,000! My mom said houses in CA cost a lot. I can see that. The good thing is, the house is only a five minute drive away from DWA!

And for that badge, that’s as far as I’ve got.

In the past few weeks, I have really researched 3D animation and stuff like that.

The farthest I have gotten is Flipnotes on the Nintendo Dsi. They’re like animations that you draw and draw and draw (that sounds familiar, doesn’t it?) until you end up with a flipbook movie! You then can create GIF files on your Dsi.

But 3D animation is VERY different. It has more of a real life to it rather than just a drawing. It’s what you can do with those drawings and what they can become.

Every second in a movie can take a few hours with movement and background and other stuff like that.

It takes a lot of computers, codes, people, work, a cast, music, and lots of time to make one movie.

For instance: How to Train Your Dragon was released in 2010 and How to Train Your Dragon 2 will come out in 2014.

Well, I hope someday I’ll be able to do that stuff.

#1kid

8 responses to “Working The Dreams

  1. Jen Lee says:

    Interesting! Just a though about your dream home…..perhaps 5 minutes is too close to work. You will be in California! Enjoy the landscape! Maybe the house will be less $ further away from the studios.

    • #1kid says:

      Yeah. I hope i find a house that will cost less doe.
      Ya think 5 min is too close to work? Hmmm.
      DWA is right next to Disney. And “my” house is 2 streets up.
      Thank you!!! 🙂

  2. I remember seeing a clip how they did the animation for The Polar Express [maybe you could goggle it] – I was really amazed at how the actors wore all those electrodes and the film malkres basically connected the dots. Very Cool ! you are right – that would be fun. Every job should be fun – the bonus would be the $$ – Have fun in DC 😉

  3. PJ Sharon says:

    Shoot for the stars, my friend. If you find a way to do what you love, make money at it, and have it serve the greater good, you will find happiness. It won’t matter if you have a big house, or if it’s an hour away from where you work:-)

    • #1kid says:

      🙂 i may be starting official 3D animation today!
      I’m sooooooo excited!
      CA is a ways away. But I still want to work there.
      thnx!

  4. li9ly says:

    I go to girl scouts too I wonder if i’ll see you there

Leave a Reply

