Road2Gold

Hit the road with me as I aim for gold

Attacking a Difficult Piano Piece

on July 3, 2012

HI! Welcome to Road 2 Gold!

In October 2010, I watched How to Train Your Dragon, and I loved it! I loved the story, characters, and moral. But another thing that is outstanding in this movie, is the music.

John Powell had done such an amazing job on HTTYD’s music, that many people arranged it for piano. Since I play the piano, I was like “Yaaaaaaaaay! People make HTTYD music for piano!” One song’s name was Forbidden Friendship.  But when I looked at the sheet music, I realized it might be too difficult … but I printed it anyway. It was a song I liked and I believed I could do it if I was determined.

I started playing the first page easily. I continued learning the piece page by page, with my piano teacher. It took about three months to learn it. After a while, I could play it quite well!

There was one problem, though. I had to improvise on portions due to the difficulty level (and my laziness:( ).

In the meantime, I had also recommended Forbidden Friendship to my friend. But she played it without improvising. After learning more songs and earning more skill over the past ten months, I sat down at my piano and started learning the parts I had improvised. And to my amazement, it sounded great!

Lately, I have been increasing the difficulty level to make the song sound like it should. I still play it everyday along with a few other songs that are assigned for my lessons, and it sounds even better everyday.

I love playing piano. I have been playing since I was six ½ . I have a big blue binder with a bunch of sheet music in it. About half of the songs I can play, and the other half are for improving on. Someday I will be able to play them all.

Thank you to my piano teachers for the help, my friends for showing me I don’t have to be afraid of a difficult piece, and GermanSeabass  for the outstanding arrangement.

If you want the arrangement or any of the other songs that have been arranged, go to SeaBass’ site here.

Later!

#1kid

2 responses to “Attacking a Difficult Piano Piece

  1. PJ Sharon says:

    So cool! It goes to show that with hard work and determination, you can accomplish anything. I’d love to learn the piano. Since I love to sing, I think piano would be a nice way to accompany my music, but time is limited these days and writing takes top priority. Maybe someday, I’ll have time for piano lessons. Or maybe I’ll try the ukulele.

    Keep up the hard work. It will definitely serve you well.

    • #1kid says:

      Thank’s!
      Piano does acompany vocals well!
      I would imagine writing keeps you busy after seeing Mom’s schudeule.
      It is a fun intsrument to play and since you already can read notes due to singing, you just have to figure wich note goes where! 🙂

Leave a Reply

