Road2Gold

Hit the road with me as I aim for gold

Swimming2Gold

on August 7, 2012

Hello everybody!

Happy Olympic weeks!

Being a swimmer, my favorite part of the Olympics is swimming. But my coaches have said that I’m not allowed to try what the Olympians are doing. BOOO! The Olympians are a whole lot more flexible than I am and have been training hard for many years. But I sure am tempted….

I am gearing up for a lot of newbie swimmers this fall. Town swim teams like mine get very busy after the Summer Games.  Little kids watch the games and think “I wanna do that!”

Which I think is great! Swimming is a great way to stay fit. Kids around nine or ten and possibly eleven come and try it, but because their bodies aren’t used to the intense workout, many don’t stay. So starting as a little squirt is best, so by the time you reach eleven the 130 laps of practice time is nothin. 🙂

Speaking of swim teams, this past Saturday was my Summer Championships! It was a time of waiting FOREVER to swim…

But it’s also a time of hanging with your friends and teammates one last time…while you wait FOREVER to swim.

I did a 4x 50 Medley Relay, a 100 IM, 50 Backstroke, and a 50 Butterfly.

I really like swimming! Hopefully, I can go to the olympics and possibly medal. They only want the best in team USA so I’m going to have to work hard.

Do you swim (competitively)?

#1kid

6 responses to “Swimming2Gold

  1. Jen Lee says:

    Not competitive….but love to swim! Or shall I say… I love to be in the water.

  2. PJ Sharon says:

    i was a fish growing up. You couldn’t get me out of the water. Until I started skating and then I preferred my water…frozen:-) Unfortunately, to be good at one I had to give up the other. I chose skating competetively and swimming for recreation. I can swim wicked fast for a short distance, but like you said, if you don’t do it all the time, the distance stuff can be super challenging. Best of luck pursuing your dreams!

  3. Uncle Mike says:

    As long as you gave it your best and had fun doing it, your already a winner:)

  4. Lucy says:

    I love swimming xD but since I’m too slow so no competitive 😛
    Did you win the championship ?

    • #1kid says:

      Last summer’s champs went pretty well! 3 months ago was… a much more difficult competition. I was seeded in the middle, and I came in the middle! I beat all my times which is AWESOME! This summer is individual states! *YAAY!*

Leave a Reply

