Road2Gold

Hit the road with me as I aim for gold

Life on the Couch

on August 6, 2013

Hello, people! WELCOME to Road2Gold.

SOOOO, as you can see, I’ve been, well, absent for the past few weeks. Yeah, it stinks. I know.

brain-bandaidThe reason for my absence is because of a concussion that occurred the week of my last post here. It’s been crazy boring and I really wanted to a ton of stuff this summer but, unfortunately, the brain comes first.

Here’s how it all went down:

Swim swim swim swim swim. Ten minutes straight of just swim. No break or anything like that. Gr. I mean, what am I supposed to think about? Sing a song? Yeah, that sounds nice. Hm? Which song should I sing? Well there’s- wait! Flipturn. Anyway, a song. Right. How about Chopin’s “Nocturne Op.9 No.2”? No, too slow. Oh, I do like “Mein Gott”! No, that’s waaaay too fast for a distance swim. Why is this so complicated?

Tap tap tap. Darn. Someone passed me. I was trying to stay ahead of them too. I guess my mind drifted off to a nearby restaurant. Now I just have to get ahead again.

Success! I’m in the lead again! The amazing, victorious, amazing, wowerful, ME! Wait! Flipturn.

That was a good flipturn. But my timing was a bit off and I should probably speed it up a little bit. This next one I’ll get it, if I remember. Continue.

Okay, I’m at the wall. Now speed it up, flip, push off really hard, and…

Bonk! What the heck did I just hit? And agh! My head kills! What just happened? I clutched the top of my head as everybody started telling me what happened.

“You just rammed into her!”

Oh, the person I had just passed collided with me? Weird. Okay, it doesn’t hurt as much anymore, but it still hurts. Just keep swimming. The ten minutes are about over now.

I was fine for another five minutes when we started doing some serious sets. I felt dizzy, nauseous, and a bit shaken. I got out of the pool and sat there for the rest of practice.

The next morning, I saw a doctor. Yep, a concussion. My balance, reflexes, and my head was wildly messed up.  Even my stomach was all wacky!Couch

Then all I did was sit there on my couch, bored… very, very, very bored. Luckily, I found some cool stuff to do like audiobooks, chillin’ with the cats, friendship bracelets, knitting, and napping. I found talking on the phone fun as well, but I think people got tired of me calling them so much. Oops. Also, the entire time I had to wear dark sunglasses to keep

Me being cool with my shades on the couch.

Me being cool with my shades on the couch.

the sun out of my eyes. I felt pretty “cool”.

So how I am I doing now? Meh, I’m okay.  I’m definitely getting better, still experiencing headaches when there’s loud noises or bright lights, stuff like that.

But the life on the couch wasn’t exactly exciting. As I had mentioned before, I was going to states in swimming this summer, as well as a training camp… Obviously, I couldn’t go to those… or could I? Yes, I did go to states, not the camp.

I’ll see y’all later with some insight on the individual state championships with a concussion! 🙂

Leave a Reply

