Road2Gold

Hit the road with me as I aim for gold

Get in the Hole!

on August 20, 2013

Helloooooo! Welcome to Road2Gold!!!

The day after the Games, I went to golf camp. Now, I don’t always golf like I do swimming, but I still very much enjoy the game.

It was nice to finally find a sport this summer that didn’t involve much noise and physical activity. Therefore, my head barely hurt! Just the sun bothered my eyes which occasionally disturbed my head.

I am not amazing at golf, but I know how to play. So, going to camp is definitely a challenge when I see all the other teens driving them onto the green like a boss. 😀 No, never

Young Rory McIlroy

Young Rory McIlroy

am I intimidated when I stupidly drive ten yards. Those kids play golf like I swim. Say the teen golfer was to challenge me to a 9-hole match, I would lose with dull thunderclouds. But say I challenged him to a swimming race, I would win with flying colorful rainbows. I’m not as awesome as Rory McIlroy, but he was young once too.

On the last day of camp, we played our own ball instead of scramble tournaments. I was VERY nervous. I was like “Oh no! All the others are gonna be like wow, she hit right into the woods… AGAIN!” but it turned out a bit differently. On hole 3, it started sprinkling a little bit. We were like “Well, it’s okay.” Then, on the green of hole 4, it started down pouring, it became windy and very cold (my visor blew off my head!), and our friend couldn’t find her ball! Luckily, one of my group mates brought a giant umbrella that fit all four of us.

It was a crazy day. I lost count of how many times the group behind us yelled “FORE!!!!!” If you didn’t know, fore means that the golf ball is coming your way so take cover. We all ducked under our bags in the rain and hoped that it didn’t hit anyone else in the group. One time, it wasn’t three feet away!

I broke my favorite club, my 7 iron. I used it like I used swim goggles. It worked for almost any distance and it was one of the only clubs I was good at. On hole 6, I drove the ball out of bounds and into the woods, then took a three club length provisional, then took a swing with the 7, and crack! the head of the club sailed at least 10 yards behind me! Apparently, the pull-cart was behind me and I broke the club on the follow through!

Of course, every time we do something, we improve. And that’s exactly what I did. I had recorded last year’s scores in my phone for some reason. This year, they came in handy. Last year, I scored a 67 playing on the orange tees. This year, I scored a 73 with a concussion, in the down pouring rain, on the red tees, and with a broken 7 Iron. The circumstances weren’t very bright, just like the state championships.

Ever golfed? Ever felt intimidated because you “weren’t as good” as the others?

#1KID

THANK YOU, UNCLE MIKE, FOR THE AWESOME NEW 7 IRON! I CAN NOW SLEEP AT NIGHT. 😀

7 responses to “Get in the Hole!

  1. Snicker…snicker. 🙂 You’re quite funny.

  2. Uncle Mike says:

    Absolutely my pleasure Audrey. Anything I can do to help ya snag a gold 🙂

  3. gerry says:

    Hea Audrey girl! Your aim to achieve knowledge in still another sport is so refreshing! You get an “A” on my scorecard!!!

  4. sarah audet says:

    I am glad you found something you enjoy this summer. We can’t all be good at everything, right. You are wise to remember everyone is good at some things, and you are a very good writer.
    Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

