Road2Gold

Hit the road with me as I aim for gold

Giving 2020 a Shot

on September 10, 2013

Konnichiwa, guys! I’m back with some AWESOME NEWS!!!

So in my post about swimming last May, I mentioned the candidate cities for the 2020 Olympics. They were Madrid, Spain; Istanbul, Turkey; and Tokyo, Japan. If you didn’t know, I’ve always wanted to go to Japan… always…

Tokyo_2020_OlympicI think my Olympic dream might actually come true. The International Olympic Committee (IOC) announced on Saturday night at 5:00 in Buenos Aries that the 2020 Summer Olympic Games will be hosted in Tokyo.

That’s right, y’all! TOKYO!

I was on my way to Glow Golf with my fabulous Youth Group when my annoying brother, Ludwig, randomly shouted “AUDREY! CHECK THE IOC!!! Where’s the Olympics!?!?!?!?!”

Then I started freaking out. Luckily, my friend handed me her phone and let me searched and there it was in olybig, bold, beautiful, amazing letters:

THE IOC ANNOUNCES TOKYO, JAPAN TO HOST THE 2020 OLYMPIC GAMES!

Me: “YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!”

map_venueAQUATICSMy friend (who also swims): “WHAT?”

My friend (the one who the phone belongs to): “ARE YOU OKAY?”

Ludwig: “ARE THEY IN TOKYO? YES?”

It was very strange and awesome all at the same time.

Yeah, Luddy is starting archery. I thought I’d also give it a shot. 🙂 Maybe Luddy and I could compete in States together! MAYBE WE COULD BOTH BE IN THE OLYMPICS TOGETHER? 😀 I, in swimming and Luddy in archery!map_venueARCHERY

I know… Another thing on my large plate of activities and sports. But since I had to stop karate last year, I have a little bit of time before the swim season starts up again! Lud, Emma, my mom, and I went to the local range for a lesson in archery.

SAMSUNGLuddy and I were pretty good! It looked as if the teacher was surprised to see that I wasn’t starting lessons. Fortunately, there was one more opening for me to join. How excited I was! 😀

So who’s excited for the Olympics? Do you like archery?

3 responses to “Giving 2020 a Shot

  1. Uncle Mike says:

    I’m pumped for the Olympics. For sure!!!

  2. Uncle Mike says:

    I love the archery pic of ya. Eye of the tiger:)

Leave a Reply

