Road2Gold

Hit the road with me as I aim for gold

The Road to Nationals

on January 31, 2015

Hey, Goldies! I’m back with one of my most exciting tales yet!

SO, as you can see from the title, this blog has got some weight. And I mean it.

Last summer, I won the State Games in my state in my favorite and competitive sport: Swimming. This also means that I qualified for the State Games of America being held in Lincoln, Nebraska in 2015. But there was one complication: To compete, I had to become a USA Swimming member.

That was a problem for me, since I wasn’t able to do that.

I approached my coaches, asking if it would even be possible to join USA Swimming as a stand-alone athlete. They said no. I, bummed, figured that I was not going to attend the SGA in the summer.

Then, I looked into it a bit more. The moment I got an email, I used my new form of messaging to contact some people associated with my state’s division of USA Swimming. Soon enough, I received a call.

Nice lady on the phone: “Yeah, you can absolutely join USA Swimming! You just have to jump through a few hoops, is all!”

Me: Yay

After being connected with other coaches, directors, and other people, I was a USA Swimming member, all set for my first meet.

I don’t know about you, but I saw that there were just doors opening and opening to new experiences. When I went to my coaches to tell them the good news, they didn’t seem to excited.

BUT WHO CARES? God’s giving me a baton in this relay of my life, and it’s exhilarating! 😀

So now I have the motivation and the preparations to race in a real USA Swimming meet, and I’m now capable of going to the SGA this summer!

Now what?

I have to swim.

Has anyone ever told you that you COULDN’T do something, then rise above the statement and accomplish it? How so?

See you soon!

~#1kid

(Credit to Christine Caine’s book Unstoppable for the reference of a divine relay. Reading it now, and looooving it!)

Leave a Reply

