Road2Gold

Hit the road with me as I aim for gold

A Little Help for My Friend – The New England Con Experience

on March 17, 2017

So, friend, you want to go to conventions? Not sure where to start? New York Comic Con is gigantic, PAX is breathtakingly huge, and San Diego Comic Con is a distant dream out west… Not to mention you aren’t about to break your piggy bank to go to a convention.

What if I told you that there are also tiny cons, happy little trees that dot the East Coast and the entire world with their judgement-free, Pocky-filled nerdiness?

What if I told you that there are cons held on college campuses, created by nerdy/geeky college students just like you?

What if I told you that conventions are everywhere, and you just didn’t know about them yet?

I’m going to share a few of my favorites (big and small), what I love about them, and how you can get involved too! Let me know your favorites, or any good ones that I should check out.

 

Anime Conventions!

I especially love anime cons because no matter what, hardly anyone judges you. Conventions like Comic Con or PAX are fairly popular and mainstream, where people may (or may not) point at your homemade cosplay and laugh. You hardly see this at anime cons because everyone is trying their hardest and is fairly comfortable. You meet new friends, take pictures, attend some pretty great panels, and have an all around fun time. Here are a few famous favorites:

Anime Boston, held at the Hynes convention center in Boston, MA, is one of New England’s most popular anime cons. I personally have not been yet, but I hear it’s awesome (and busy!). Also, 2017 will be my first year going and I am PUMPED!

“Seriously, it’s a thing.” This gem of a convention is a family-friendly, all-ages, most-epic, never before seen, summer camp convention. You don’t have to like anime to come to CampAnime, you just have to be okay with having fun. CampAnime is my all-time favorite anime convention, and was actually my very first con I went to. You can read all about it on Road2Gold’s past posts.

  • And many, many more!

Comic Cons!

Comic cons are known for their incredible size and popularity. Of course, the bigger, most famous conventions featuring well-loved guests are mentioned in the news or are seen in our news feeds all the time. But a few smaller cons have sprung up all over the place. Comic cons usually aim toward the older crowd, along with sci-fi cons, but every con is different.

It’s huge. I’m not allowed to go because I will get so lost and squished I won’t be able to find my mom ever again.

RICC isn’t that big when compared to NYCC, creating a fun atmosphere with enough
bustle to keRICCGroupep you on your feet. Also, there are no chairs, but that’s beside the point. The cosplayers are friendly, no matter how advanced. While pricey, it’s a great con to grab a friend and spend the day looking at merch and meeting some cool guests.

 

  • And many more that I don’t know enough about!

Campus cons!

College and university campuses have their own conventions too! If you don’t have one near you, and you’re a college student, create a club/event at your school. They’re super fun, and really bring the college’s community together for a great time.

Held at UConn in Storrs, U-Con @ UConn is wicked awesome. All ages are welco
med to
join the group in late Feb/Early March, students and non-students, etc. I’ve been twice, and I’ve always had a blast. If you’d like more info, head to their Facebook group.

  • ConBust – Northampton, MA – March

Conbust is a small campus convention at Smith College in Northampton, conbust20MA. I went in 2016, and met up with some New England convention friends for a day of cosplaying and fun. With many guests and panelists to keep you busy, Saturdat wraps up with “One Dance to Rule Them All” and it’s pretty awesome.

 

 

Gaming conventions!

Everyone in the gaming community has an idea of how incred20170312_184157ible PAX is, but no one
knows its true beauty until they have actually gone. It’s different than any con I have ever been to. (*tears up* So much money and technological advances in one place.)

Last but not least, that one con that I don’t know how to categorize:

So evagentcarterery convention is built for all types of people, it’s hard to categorize. Connecticon is one of those conventions. Anime, gaming, sci-fi, comics, books — whatever you’re into. Connecticon’s got it. It’s a good size, with a variety of dealer’s, artists, photoshoots, panels, and activities. Hartford is pretty cool, too.

 

Honorable mentions

  • Another Anime Convention – I’ve heard fantastic things. It’s in New Hampshire. Manchester, NH – October
  • Bakaretsu Con – One of the very few Vermont conventions. I hear is pretty epic. Colchester, VT – October
  • Katsucon – Not really anywhere near me, but it’s huge and very popular and everyone all around the East Coast goes to it. National Harbor, MD – February

There’s a con for everyone, and frankly, the only way to truly know what kind of cons you’re into is to GO TO ALL OF THEM! Seriously, go to maybe three a year, visit the small ones, meet some people, maybe try a big con once in a while. You’re going to have a blast. Trust me.

Have fun!

~#1kid

Leave a Reply

